The internet is a good source of information and opens up opportunities for people all over the world. Is all information reliable online?What could be done to control information online?

In today’s digital world, with the help of knowledge it became easier to find information online. However, it is debatable if the internet is trustworthy or not. This essay will examine the reliability of information available online and strategies to manage misinformation. To begin with, looking from an overall experience, it is readily apparent that not all data are consistent. Some people are writing rumours that are not true so the internet is becoming more and more risky for searching information. For instance, about 5 years ago Wikipedia was the most trustable source. However, nowadays people can write anything on the website because of the new feature that came. Moreover, at the moment the most popular source is AI and even AI can not be fully trusted anymore, as it sometimes gives incorrect answers. Therefore, online information should always be verified by a professional before fully trusting it. Furthermore, governments should take precautions or create a law provided by the legislative system with serious fines. Also a software system can be developed to detect the reliability of the source. In addition, communities can be harsh to other individuals so it is essential to give punishments. For example, a year ago false information about a famous married couple was circulated online and presented as if they were true. People believed immediately which highlights the importance of legal regulations to prevent misleading. Thus, system developers and the cabinet should always be alarmed. To conclude, although the internet offers immense benefits, the reliability of online information remains a major concern. Hence, everyone should be more careful to trust a source.