Developing countries should be encouraged to implement high tariffs to grow their local industries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that developing nations introduce taxes on goods or services being imported so that local industries flourish. I do not agree with this proposal, as it is both impractical and also causes economic issues. Firstly, we are living in a world where people's economic situations have improved compared to the past. This means even if foreign products and services were to be made more expensive due to tariffs, many people would still continue to purchase them, if needed, anyway. This is particularly true for high-income individuals since this practice would not have a significant effect on their budget. As a result, such a development can create inequality between the poor and the rich rather than help local businesses grow. For example, in my country Uzbekistan, the endeavor to increase GM car sales by putting extra charges on imported cars did not prove successful, and was then abolished by bringing the costs down again. Secondly, despite being foreign, established companies contribute significantly to the national economy. This is because they not only provide many people with jobs, but also pay larger amounts of taxes. However, when tariffs were implemented, this could affect their operations negatively, leading to some closures. This, in turn, translates into higher unemployment rates and reduced taxes, meaning the economy is at stake. Examples include multinational companies like KFC and McDonald's to name only food chains. These business entities offer benefits ranging from convenience to the public and a source of income to increased revenues to the government budget. Therefore, simply prioritizing local services and goods over those entering the country does more harm than good. In conclusion, charging goods and services imported in order to encourage local ones is not a logical course of action seeing as it can cause practical and economic problems.