In many countries, young people are choosing not to pursue traditional careers such as teaching or farming. Why do you think this is happening? What problems could this trend cause for society?

A large majority of young students are not opting for traditional professions such as farming and teaching. One of the reasons is that students are not encouraged to pursue such fields by the government, and they are deemed as not very ideal for the future. As a result, not only will there be shortage of professionals in such fundamental fields, there will also be dire consequences like food shortage and drop in quality of education. For young students, subjects such as computer science, medicine, robotics and many more are glamourised in a way that it bounds the students ' interest to these related fields only. These professions are not only shown as high paying, but also presented as being the future. Consequently, students prefer to pursue career which offers them job security. Additionally, no benifits are provided to pupils that consider subjects related to farming and teaching, unlike other courses. For example, the number of native farmers in the UK have decreased exponentially since the last two decades, according to a reseach. Most importantly, the highly ignored aspect of this problem is the potentially devastating effects that would come as a result of scarcity in these professions. This is to say, a lack of professors to teach the students would mean that the average number of students per teacher would increase, leading to drop in quality of eduaction, which would directly affect others professions aswell. Moreover, having less farmers would mean less yeild for the increasing population. Although the level of technology for farming would be better, not having sufficent minds to operate them would eventually lead to food shortage. For example, in 1800s, India faced a severe famine due to farmer's protest against the government policies. In conclusion there are several reasons for lack of individuals in the traditional fields, but this could change if appropriate action is taken by the government to adresss this situation.