Research shows that increasing number of people are now living in mega-cities of more than 20 million inhabitants. Is it this a positive or negative development ?

Living in major cities has become a popular choice for many people in modern society. Much has been discussed about the impacts of this phenomenon. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure. On the one hand, I acknowledge that the development comes with certain drawbacks. First of all, there is a constant occurrence of traffic jams during peak hours or in crowded neighborhoods. In addition, high population density puts significant pressure on urban infrastructure. Many schools cannot accommodate suffering from a lack of available beds for patients. They also lead to an imbalance in population dítribution between different regions. On the other hand, however, as far as I am concerned, the pros of this phenomenon could be surpassed by its cons. To begin with, resident - who live in such places are likely to have better employment prospects, as a diverse and dynamic labor market. On top of that, it is easier to reach medical services, educational institutions, and a wide range of recreational options. It is not to mention that living in big cities allows people to experience and learn about diverse cultures, thanks to the presence of tourists from all over the world. In conclusion, although the increasing number of people living in megacities can negatively affect the environment and create uneven population distribution, it also offers benefits in terms of employment and access to modern facilities. Governments should promote equal regional development to limit the overcrowding in big cities.