IELTS Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that gap year is essential for som students. While it is commonly held belief that taking a rest year to discover your self without any pressure is important, there is also an argument that opposite it. In my opinion, I consider that taking a year out before starting university has a lot of benefits. To begin with, seniors are more likely to be stressed and under a lot of pressure to get to the university they want. In other words, taking a gap year can be helpful to think clearly about their future plans, and great chance to acknowldege about majors, and future careers. In addition volunteering or working in several fields can be a great opportunity to develop skills and personal growth. For instance, people travel to learn another language, experience different cultures, communicate better, and learn how to depend more on themselves. Another point to consider is, reaserch related that a lot of students fail their first year of college and drop out because of depression and stress. It is also possible to say that because they consume all of their energy and time in high school, in order to get into their dream college, and now they are unmotivated and burned out. Moreover, many students experience their university life without their high school friends. Wich makes them feel lonely and lower their enthusiasm about university. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that gap year is great opportunity to recharge your battery and discover new things in both yourself and university choices.