Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? what could be disadvantages fo being self employed?

The trend of self-employment, instead of working for any organisation, is increasing nowadays. This essay will discuss the causes behind this shift and also highlight the possible disadvantages of self-employment with explanations and examples. To begin with, the first and foremost reason behind the shift in interest from working for others to self-ownership is behaviour and attitude. To elaborate, some employers treat their employees poorly by rudely giving instructions and showing no concern for their emotional well-being. This creates a toxic environment where neither the employees nor the workers. As a result, both have to face some consequences such as financial loss and health issues like anxiety, stress, and depression. For example, As recent study reveals that more than 60% of staff quit their job due to the toxic behaviour of owners. Moving forward, there are a plethora of disadvantages associated with being self-employed, and one of the major ones is a compromise in quality. To explain, many individuals start their own businesses without having proper knowledge of business operations or management. As a result, they tend to focus solely on profits and numbers, neglecting product or service quality, which can sometimes lead to serious consequences. For instance, in 2019, a tragic incident occurred during an adventure activity when a nylon rope snapped mid-air, resulting in the death of two participants. Upon investigation, it was revealed that the rope was manufactured by a newly established business that had used low-quality materials to cut costs. To conclude, although working without any interruptions is easy but it is hazardous in many ways. Apart from this, a single person can't take care of all departments, such as maintenance, quality check, production, and so on. Hence, working with a company is the best option not only for businesses but also for customers.