In order to solve traffic problems, goverments should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In recent years, several nations have implemented a higher tax on private car owners to improve public transportation. From a pragmatic perspective, this political action is meaningful and effective in enhancing citizens' happiness. Hence, in this essay, I will examine both the benefits and drawbacks of this policy. To begin with, it is true that even if governments hope to improve public transport, they often struggle with the lack of funding. For instance, in Thailand, heavy traffic is one of the most prominent problems in this country and it leads to environmental problems due to a considerable amount of carbon emissions generated by those vehicles. Nonetheless, the Thailand government cannot radically solve this issue simply because of the scarcity of capital. In other words, if authorities obtain enough money, they will be able to resolve heavy traffic and mitigate environmental burdens. Moreover, since the majority of citizens on this planet possess cars, the tax on a specfic type of property, car, will be helpful for the public sector to gather capital. Also, if the public sector allocates collected taxes to the improvement of public transportation, citizens will not need to buy expensive properties and will be able to enjoy more convenient public transport. Therefore, taxing private car owners has several advantages for the entire society because it will solve some societal obstacles and raise living standars. On the other hand, as some people argue, it is also true that this governmental action generates several disadvantages, in terms of private businesses. Specifically, setting a higher tax on cars means that consumers percieve higher costs when they buy cars. Furthermore, perceived higher costs lead to the reduction in the total demand, and the companies, which provide cars to markets, need to lower consumer prices and consequently suffer from a less profit. In effect, in some developing countries, a lot of small car businesses have bunkrupted. Thus, focusing on negative aspects, the main drawbacks of taxing car owners are the less profitability of car producers. In conclusion, this policy has both the adavantages, such as the ease of heavy traffic, more convenient transport and the mitigation of environmental problems, and disadvantages, including the decrease in car demands and in the profitability of car manufacturers. However, those social benefits will be helpful for us to achieve the SDGs. For this reason, I believe that governments should continue this tax policy.