Fossil fuel, such as coal, oil and natural gas, is extensively used in many countries which cause harms to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, however, is being encouraged in many countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present world, people lean more towards sustainable energy sources such as wind and solar power instead of relying on burning fossil fuels. Although coal, oil, and natural gas are widely used, these are not renewable power sources. From my point of view, countries that adapt to renewable power generation are towards a positive development stage. In fact, there are many disadvantages to burning fossil oil. Firstly, it emits greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide, which directly interfere with the composition of the atmosphere and interrupt the balance. As a result, global warming occurs, and there are significant effects for the ozone layer as well that protects us from harmful UV rays. Furthermore, rising sea levels can be detected due to global warming. Although the initial investment for renewable energy can be costly, it will sufficiently benefit the communities in the long term. People can depend on renewable sources, as they are readily available extensively. Therefore, this will become a good solution for fossil fuel depletion around the world. Further, the usage of sustainable energy sources improves air quality, and as a result, respiratory problems, which are common around cities, can be reduced among city-dwellers. This will affect the overall health and well-being of people. For instance, in European countries, the usage of bicycles is being promoted to enhance the quality of city life. Therefore, it is evident that usage of alternative energy sources should be enhanced, stepping towards positive development, as that is the only way to preserve nature for the next generation.