Some people say that young people should be encouraged to leave home when they become adults, while others claim it is better if they remain with their family. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this century, more young individuals have their own style of living and more opportunities of exploring the world. While some people believe that these individuals should move out once they grew up as adults, some opponents think that teenagers should continue living with their family regardless of their age. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints with examples and opine that young people should step out of their comfort zones to improve their adaptability to new environment when they are matured. On the one hand, proponents of leaving home think that it is crucial for adults to develop skills of survival, such as cooking, cleaning and financial management as they are matured enough to live independently. Individuals with strong self-care ability are usually less dependent and able to give other people ’s better impression that they are less troublesome and more down-to-earth. Compared to people that always live with their parents, they generally have more reliance on their parents for doing the housework for them, hence having less incentive to learn more life skills to equip themselves. Apart from life skill learning, living alone also increases the level of freedom because of having no more immediate relatives’ intervention. Residents can do what they want to do at home and not being criticised by anyone. For instance, inviting guests to the house and hosting parties until late night. Both the host and the guests tend have more enjoyment when there is no relative in the house. On the other hand, opponents argued that moving out household leads to higher living expenses such as electricity bills and food costs. Most of the spending can be minimised when living with parents, thus it would be easier for individuals to save up for their future use. Otherwise, they would easily have strong financial burden especially when their income level is not high at the start of their employment. Moreover, the family bonding would be weaker if people are not living together with their family members. As they do not stay at the same place for most of the time, the interaction between them is limited despite having frequent and scheduled gatherings. In conclusion, even though living outside the family is costly and reduces the time of seeing the family physically, it is necessary and beneficial for young people to start new life and have more private space by moving out when they get older. The earlier they start to live independently, the quicker they can learn about taking care of themselves for their entire life. At the same time, they should make a balance of living alone and meeting up with their parents, thus not losing the family connection while not living together.