In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more people are becoming vegetarians. While some often find difficulties in being consistent with this diet due to limited options when travelling, this essay agrees that becoming one offers more advantages as such a lifestyle promotes healthy ingredients. When travelling abroad, vegetarian often faces a challenge in choosing a meal because some countries are not really inclusive in providing vegetarian-friendly dishes. Furthermore, few jurisdictions are meat-loving and it has been deeply rooted in their cultures. For example, East Asians enjoy various meat-based delicacies, such as salmon and luncheon. Particularly, South Korea is famous for its BBQ culture where people relish this dish while socialising with their colleagues. On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned challenge, becoming a vegetarian can be an investment for those who prioritise a healthier lifestyle. In contrast with the conventional diet, it focuses on vegetables and organic sources with minimal processed food. This way, people can easily maintain their health by integrating a rich-nutrient ingredient into their daily food intake. For example, the population of vegetarians in Central Asia is higher than the other regions. It is found that these countries are associated with a high life expectancy rate. To conclude, becoming a vegetarian comes with more advantages. While it may be hard to stick to a plant-based diet in some places, adopting such a lifestyle is truly an investment to maintain one’s health.