The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Thesis statement: Disadvantages outweigh advantages

In today's digital world, personal information is often collected by large companies. Although this has some benefits, such as targeted ads, personalised services, and so on but the side effects are far more harmful than the merits. This essay will explain why it is dangerous for people with explanations and examples. To begin, the first and foremost negative impact of storing personal data is privacy risk. To explain it, many large companies like Amazon, Google, and many more save info to make their use easy and convenient for customers; however, it might be misused by cyber criminals and can cause a lot of trouble. Not only for properties and money, but also for individual life. For instance, in 2024, a strange incident hit the headlines on TV, which involved the handling of Facebook's saved details to select their targets. Facebook records name, city, address, phone number, and location, which is enough to follow any person. Another major reason is data misuse. To elaborate on it, because sites have all your private information, by using third-party apps, anyone can see it and use it in whatever way he or she want to use, more unfortunately, if any problem occurs person cannot prove himself or herself innocent. For example, according to the report published by military officers in 2024, more than 80% of terrorists use false data to stay and make purchases, which is theft from social media apps. As a result, according to the proofs, the person whose information they use becomes a criminal. Thus, privacy is crucial. To conclude, the saved facts can save time and give personalised services, but it has demerits such as privacy risk, identity theft, and records misuse. So it is not worth it just to save a few minutes, to put life at risk.