The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that there ought to be less working and more week days. This essay strongly disagrees with this statement, for this trend might cause some issues in civil and economic terms. Firstly, there are some workers whose jobs are highly important to the public. Doctors, in particular, are the ones who are needed the most. In some European countries like Iceland or Germany, citizens usually work only four days a week. Many a doctor, after finishing his or her work on Thursday, only gets back to the workplace on Mondays. When a physician is absent, more often than not, an unskilled nurse or a recent med school graduate might be a "substitute". Potentially, this can adversely impact the health of individuals getting treatments at the weekends. In Tajikistan, for instance, newly born offsprings lose their lives in maternity clinics due to the incompetence of " replacing" on weekdays nurses. Additionally, reducing the duration of the working week can have a negative effect on the economy. Representatives of certain professions get paid according to the number of hours they work during a week. This means that the less an individual works, the less the amount of his or her salary is. Teachers in my country Uzbekistan can be taken as an example: they are paid money for each hour they have taught in a month. Should they work only four days a week, their incomes may well decrease significantly, having a tremendous strain on the family budget. On a larger scale, it can also affect people with other occupations, thereby hurting the state's economy. To conclude, shortening the length of work is not recommended owing to the potential damage it can have on people's well-being, both physical and financial.