Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been a noticeable increase in tourism having more negative effects than a positive one on local people and their surroundings. While, some argue that travel related industries greatly stimulate local economies. This essay will explore the advantages and potential drawbacks of tourism. The most powerful argument in favour of tourism is that it significantly boosts the local economy. The travel sector has fueled the economic process substantially for several key reasons, such as an increase of foreign visitors, improvement of public infrastructure and subsequent growth of job placements. As tourists’ arrival brings not only people, but also their financial resources. As a result inflow of money adds to regional GDP, and governments try to catch up with appropriate infrastructural facilities that would otherwise stay undeveloped like it is the case with the UAE, where tourism is the major revenue source for the country. Moreover, all these economic processes involve increased demand in the job market which is also in favour of civilians. On the other hand, there is widespread belief that mass travel can negatively affect ecosystems, which may result in resource depletion. This perspective is supported by the example of Maldives islands, where over-visitation has altered the environment of coral reefs and strained natural resources. In conclusion, the benefits of travel industry including economy advancement and job creation, clearly outweigh the potential disadvantages while it is essential to address the ecological consequences.