Q.) Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a topic of great debate that what is more fruitful to study in co-education schools or in gender specific schools, so that pupils can gain maximum out of it. In my viewpoint mixed institutes are a better place for learning and reasons behind it are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who are in favour of the former view assert that it becomes little easy for the school managements to design school curriculum to target gender specific needs. As a matter of fact, both gender are inclined to different activities. For example, majority of boys prefer sports activities like wrestling, cricket,etc. and on the other hand, girls prefer activities like art and craft, etc. Hence, if both the gender have separate schools, it becomes little easy for the staff to manage chores. On the other side, those who are in support of the latter view opine that students become more responsible in co-education institutes. Undoubtedly, when boys and girls are studying in the same class they can learn how to behave in a respectful way, which later becomes an integral part of one's personality. To illustrate, it is generally seen that students of the mixed schools are more rational and polite in their approach toward others. Therefore, co-ed schools could laid a foundation stone in producing ideal citizens. Adding more to it, mixed classes can play a crucial role in ameliorating the custom of gender discrimination. In fact, in our society males are believed to be superior as compared to females, which is the base of gender discrimination. However, if we could promote the concept of mixed schools, to some extent we can reduce this age-old problem. To sum up, separate schools could allow the schools to focus on gender specific needs but without a second thought we can argue that mixed schools can produce well-behaved and responsible citizens, moreover, it could help in reducing gender discrimination from our society.