government should spend more money on railways rather than roads to what extent do you agree or disagree

Enormous environmental issue having occur in recent years has raised people concerned, they opine, the Government should invest more on railways instead of roads the reduce the emission released by private vehicles. I disagree with the notion that railways and trains construction require high investment amount and technical expertise, which is hard for developing countries to afford it. For developing countries that still have lower connectivity among its area, road is the best infrastructure option to strengthen logistics route and expand connectivity due to its fast construction period. Indeed, it needs multiple stages of work such as visibility study, land clearance, utility relocation, integrated system preparation, hence it is results to longer construction time of around 5 years. For example, MRT Jakarta requires 5 years of construction time before commercially operation in 2018, compared to toll Jakarta-Cikampek II (MBZ) elevate only require 2 years to finish. Another issue of railroad’s construction is its very expensive investment cost. In Indonesia, typically cost of capital of toll road is vary from IDR100.0 billion to IDR400.0 billion, still much lower than MRT and LRT of around IDR16.0 trillion and IDR32,5 trillion, respectively. Such a huge investment amount might burden a country’s balance sheet if they are just standalone, hence making them to be rely on additional capital injection from foreign investor by creating consortium. Without strong diplomacy and tempting sweetener, it might be very unlikely for foreign investor to chip in to such a capital-intensive project. Overall, roads is the best infrastructure option for developing countries to expand their connectivity due to its relatively fast construction time and fair investment cost.