Increasing numbers of students are going to university instead of working after high school. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who do this.

In recent years, the trend of getting higher schooling has increased significantly, many students are going to universities and colleges for better education. Some advocate this trend, others remain sceptical, citing some possible drawbacks. In this essay, I shall elaborate on both perspectives and their overall impact on individuals and society. To commence with, there are a myriad of benefits associated with this. The cardinal one is that going to university helps students to gain in-depth knowledge about various aspects of the chosen field, which leads to better employment opportunities and wealthier jobs in the future. Moreover, not only can learners learn important skills, but also develop critical thinking and teamwork, which are valuable in the workplace. Therefore, however, despite some aforementioned merits, there are also some negative outcomes which cannot be overlooked. Firstly, taking higher education is not budget-friendly, as a result, many students cannot afford it. Secondly, some learners may not find a job in their field after graduation, which can lead to frustration and waste of time. To sum up, although higher education opens the doors for better job options and more knowledge, but also too expensive and hard to pay. Nevertheless, the merits of the discussed matter far exceed its demerits.