Some people consider playing sports is beneficial for schoolchildren. Some, however, believe sport activities also have some drawbacks. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of children playing sports.

Society believes that schooling students gain advantages from being involved in sports, while some emphasise that there can be several detriments as well. From my point of view, I have a balanced view regarding this situation. There are numerous gains pupils obtain through playing sports and games. Firstly, often physical activity leads to better cardiovascular health, a strong immunity system, and mental well-being. For instance, exercising supports primary children ’s cognitive development according to the research. Apart from that, pupils build up qualities such as leadership, teamwork, unity, and empathy when interacting with other schoolmates. In fact, being involved in sports may contribute to personality development and encouragement among students in their early ages. Sports is essential for children to learn how to make a decision and perform something in front of a gathering of people. While team games such as netball and volleyball teach people to perform as a team, games such as chess build up the person individually. In contrast, when it comes to detriments, students do not obtain a sufficient period of time to concentrate on their studies when they get exhausted. In most cases, sports practice is held after school. Further, calorie-dense foods should be consumed by children, as extreme physical activities may lead to nutrient deficiencies and underweight. Besides, students who do not perform well at sports may be isolated and subjected to teasing from others. In conclusion, according to the above instances, it is evident that children's involvement in sports has advantages as well as disadvantages. Nevertheless, children should engage in sports, balancing their academics.