Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In modern society, freelance is quite common among the mass. The reason and consequence of this phenomenon can be explained as follows. Firstly, self-employment is justified in that contemporary working environment within a company or organization is not very friendly to many employers. Office issues, such as long working hours, peer pressure and unfair comparison between colleagues, make staff suffer from negative emotions such as self-doubt and anxiety. In contrast, if they choose to be self-employed, they could avoid these problems and have more control of their working atmosphere. Meanwhile, another reason contributing to the popularity of self-employment is that more people are after a life full of freedom. Not restricted to instructions and deadlines from supervisors, individuals can work more freely and follow their dreams. In this way, work of creativity can be delivered since they don’t need to abide by stereotypes within a corporation. However, people should think twice before they decide to work for themselves because self-employment has some limitations that shouldn’t be overlooked. To be more specific, earnings of self-starters may become unstable, especially at the beginning of their own career, before they manage to target the right customers. In addition, they need to pay social welfare regularly by themselves, in order to receive pensions at retirements. Therefore, people may need to struggle more to meet their basic demands if they choose self-employment. To conclude, I strongly believe that self-employment is not suitable for everyone considering economic factors. It is suggested that people think it thoroughly before they leave their companies and start their own business.