Interest in homeschooling is becoming more widespread around the world. In your opinion, should school be compulsory for all children, or should families be allowed the right to choose to educate their children at home?

Nowadays, more and more parents are inclined to homeschool their children instead of sending them to school. While some people believe that families have a right to choose whether to educate young family members at home or at school, I think that the latter option should be obligatory. To begin with, sending youngsters to educational institutions guarantees that they will receive an education. Their academic performance and attendance are strictly supervised by teachers and school administration. For example, when a student is absent or has loans in any subject, parents are informed immediately. This assists in keeping children in control. Additionally, young people who attend school tend to be more social and open-minded. They increase their confidence as well as communication skills. In school, they are surrounded by their peers and other people with whom they have to interact. Obviously, they cannot have this interplay if they are homeschooled. On the other hand, some parents may prefer to prevent their children from going to school, thinking that their behaviour would be negatively affected by their classmates. This situation may actually occur as children often behave in a way their peers do. For instance, students with bad backgrounds may become role models for other young individuals and encourage them to undertake their destructive habits. Moreover, it is thought in many families that homeschooling is better for receiving knowledge due to the fact that a teacher's attention is fully focused on one or two students and not on a class of more than twenty people. In conclusion, even though some advantages of homeschooling may be found, I strongly believe that attending school should be mandatory. It is unclear how effective studying at home can be, and young children need social interaction anyway.