Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, people nowadays live in a competitive environment; therefore, it is important for students to equip themselves with more expertise. Whereas some pupils want to learn more about other subjects while studying their major, others reckon that it is more essential to focus on their main subject in order to obtain a certification. I am in favor of the latter statement, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. An array of reasons may lead to why students should learn other subjects apart from their majors. To begin with, doing research and reading literature in different sectors helps prepare students for diverse working environments. That is, if students can enhance themselves by learning knowledge from other subjects, this can give them advantages, since they are more capable of dealing with various challenges when they arise. Furthermore, pupils can learn how to cooperate and communicate with people majoring in other subjects, which further expands their professional network and enhances their social skills. In other words, learning other subjects helps foster students ’ soft skills, which are also important in the future workplace. On the other hand, as far as I am concerned, focusing on certain subjects provides more merits. Firstly, students can deeply understand the expertise, making them become trustworthy and employable individuals in particular fields. That is to say, students have more opportunities to take the lead on important projects or even be promoted after graduation, since they can adeptly apply and evaluate their knowledge compared to those distracted by other subjects. Secondly, certifications are necessary for students to be recognized and valued for their specialty, reducing the risk of losing jobs, since they can remain resistant to being replaced by others. For example, imagine a scenario where AI technology is gradually replacing a lot of jobs, including some sectors where certifications are irrelevant. As a result, jobs such as factory workers may easily be replaced; in contrast, doctors, lawyers, and other experts can still use their skills to ensure a stable source of income without worrying too much about their future career path. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I am firmly convinced that students should spend their time and effort studying for a qualification, since they can become more employable individuals and reduce the possibility of being replaced.