There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students have always felt the pressure that comes with academics, but now such a feeling is exacerbatingly more widespread and immense than ever before. By the age of 12, many children are already juggling between maths, science, languages and even physical education and cookery. Hence, to relieve academic pressure, many people are of the opinion that subjects such as the latter two are academically redundant in a student's educational journey, so as they should be removed from students workloads. While such an action may sound beneficial, I strongly believe that undertaking such an action will only prove detrimental for students in the long run. If such a scenario were to occur, students may experience the extra time they have to focus on their academics. However, many will soon experience the opposite effect - a loss in focus. Research has found that taking regular breaks between academic studies, allows the brain to rest and recuperate, leading to far better levels of memorisation and recall. For example, regular exercise is a key factor that many successfull individuals have attributed to their success. Thus, non-academic subjects should not be disregarded, and recognised for their indirect capability to enhance intelligence. Additionally, many schools do not force older students to juggle subjects they dislike. Only by being exposed to a wide variety of academic and non-academic subjects, can a student discover what they enjoy learning. For instance, if physical education were removed, a student could have never discovered their love of the game and would not have ever become a footballer. A widely respected and admirable profession around the world. Hence, a student should have the freedom to explore all types of subject fields, and have the opportunity to discover what their true passion is. To conclude, the notion that non-academic subjects are redundant is, by itself, aredundant idea. Not only has scientific research proven their crucial role in an individual's ability to learn, but also empowers students to uncover who they are.