In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress in the workplace is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

The deteriorating mental health of people has become a contentious issue in today's world. Most of the employees are experiencing stress at their workplace. There are multifaceted reasons of increased mental health issues among workers such as working overtime and enhanced competition in the offices. However, multiple approaches like availability of counselling services and extended holidays can assist in reducing the level of anxiety in the employees. To begin with, one of the major factors causing mental strain in the workers is spending too much time on jobs. In order to earn more, most of the workers work for long hours which makes them physically and mentally tired. Additionally, these people do not get enough time to sleep and spend time with their families, which enhances feeling of isolation among them. For instance, a survey conducted in Melbourne, Australia, revealed that approximately 60 per cent of the workers employed in Dominoz, work double shifts that limits their ability to sleep for atleast 6 hours, consequently leading to depression and stress. Moreover, another factor contributing to mental pressure in individuals who are employed is the anxiety to cope with the increasing competition. Many people always feel pressurized to be productive and develop their skills to get promotions and to retain the job positions. For example, an individual who had plans to get higher job position will always feel stressed thinking that what he or she could do to get promoted and impress the employers. Therefore, more competitive work environment sometimes have detrimental impact on the cognitive ability of people. Furthermore, there are several strategies that can be implemented by the firms to improve the well-being of their staff. Firstly, seminars, workshops and counselling services offering knowledge and techniques to improve stress can serve the purpose. The therapies provided in counselling encourages the service seeker to talk about concerns and also assist with the ways to tackle with the problems that one is facing. So, companies should be obliged to provide mental health services and workshops to their employees on a regular basis. Secondly, granting benefits to the workers such as long weekends, and paid trips with families will boost morale and satisfaction of the workers. Also, these benefits will provide an opportunity to a person to have a break from their busy schedules, which will further provide them mental peace. For example, the CEO of the top one industry in India, named, Tata, provided in an interview that they focus on mental health of their staff by providing long holidays and this help them in retaining the experienced professionals for longer period of time as the workers feel relax and supported by the company. Thus, opting these techniques will help in improving the mental health of the workers. To conclude, the competitive workplaces and increased financial responsibilities make workers feel stressed all the time, but the methods such as counselling and vacations can assist in providing satisfaction to individuals who work.