Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

While some individuals may believe that looking after their health and finances is the government’s duty, others believe otherwise.I immensely agree with the latter point of view. First of all, governments should allow everyone regardless of their social status to use the health care system. In order to treat everyone equally, many authurities and resoruces such as hospitals must be able to offer their services to citizens no matter what their income is. Also, providing health care system for the older generation and insure their well-being is beneficial towards the governemt as well. In cases whereas pandemics or health crises, knowing eldrly people were taken care of and are in a good shape is a relife for the governors. Not only the health of these individuals matters and should be taken care of but their but their economics should also be concidered. regarding this, another point worth bringing the spot light to is the taxes. Governments collect taxes from each individual in order to keep them protected and look after their needs. Therefore using these fees that are collected for public’s good must also include providing for those who have low retirement salary, or are struggling with their cost of living because of their old age. In addition if the elderly people's accountings are not being taken care of they can fall into poverty, which can casue high crime rates. In conclusion, it indeed is a governmental responsibility to take care of the older generation, in both aspects. Above all of these, the elderly people are the ones that paved the way for the younger generation. If the ones we voted for to care for us, neglect our elderly people, then they were not the right choice.