In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

More and more people usually think that spending long time at work is a positive development. And I can totally agree with this case, having two reasons why. first of all, I believe spending long hours at work could produce much achievments which gives satisfaction. In fact, so much people enjoy the feeling of succesion when they finish doing their tasks. A study puplished in the Californai university showed that the people who are succeeding in their jobs are much happier than people who are doing nothing. Therefore spending long time at work make people feel more usefull. In addition, I feel like by staying at work for more hours to finish the tasks were given for you may gives you an advantages from your boss. What I mean is when you stay more than your co workers and finish more tasks that makes more showed to your boss wich when you want to have a break or vacation it will make it easier. One of my sister once was working for 12 hours a day then her boss gave her a 10 days break. To be clear working much hours provides more braek hours In conclusion, I believe that spending long hours at work gives feeling of succeed and satisfaction as well as gives you higher social statment with you boss and co workers