High medication costs can affect the effectiveness of disease treatment. Discuss the main reasons for increasing medication prices and examine how this affects disease treatment

Medical cost plays a vital role in the treatment. Meanwhile, there are high pharmaceutical prices that are existing across countries, resulting in a range of severe issues regarding treatment. In this essay, an attempt will be made to discuss the reason behind the high fee of medication and highlight the risk to patient healing. To begin with, although medical advancements are happening at an incredible pace, the cost of drugs still stands at a high threshold. Although researching new drugs takes a long time to have an effective effect and requires a huge investment to conduct, the process of drug discovery suffers from a high failure rate. For instance, according to the research, scientists spend 3 billion dollars on discovering new medications. Nevertheless, the proportion of outcomes reaches approximately 20% to 30%. Therefore, drug prices have to stay high to balance the budget. As a result, individuals cannot afford the prescription costs, leading to an impact on severe health issues and healthcare. Citizens who have diseases do not follow medication adherence and take lower doses than prescribed in order to manage expenses. Consequently, the total number of hospitalisations increases dramatically, directly burdening health systems. The doctors and nurses work overtime shifts to treat patients. Besides, the families of patients experience profound helplessness, resulting in less hope in their lives. Hence, the more expensive the drugs are, the more stressful inhabitants and authorised institutions have to deal with. In a nutshell, the research and development of new drugs is one of the major factors driving up out-of-pocket drug costs. Thereby, the patients not only endure physical pain, but also struggle with high costs. In particular, when those living in poverty cannot afford a remedy, they are even forced to give up medical care.