In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a growing trend of people migrating from rural areas to urban centers. While some believe this may have some negative impacts, I argue that the benefits of urbanization outweigh its drawbacks. On one hand, it is true that this phenomenon may cause some adverse consequences. Firstly, people moving to the cities may adversely affect the development of the rural areas. The decrease in the population in the countryside may lead to a reduction in consumption and less labor, which thus affects the local agriculture and local industries. Secondly, with more and more young people leaving, elderly people may suffer mental health issues and poor social services. When young people move to the cities, old people may feel lonely and lacking of family bond. Moreover, alongside fewer people, social services such as healthcare, transportation will usually decline. Lastly, due to the expansion of the urban population, resource problems and rising house prices may arise, affecting urban citizens’ well-being. On the other hand, there are a variety of advantages of this trend. The increasing population can contribute to the economic growth as a whole. There are more jobs with higher salaries and opportunities in large cities, increasing people ’s disposable income. Furthermore, by attracting more talented young people, it will increase the cities’ dynamic and innovation, which is beneficial to the development of the economy. In addition, centralization of social resources and government investment, such as infrastructure, hospitals, and water supply facilities, can improve the efficiency of the whole society. Moreover, it is more convenient for people to access public services, like education, transportation, and public healthcare, improving the quality of personal life. In conclusion, although there are some shortcomings of the migration from underdeveloped areas to developed areas, I believe it will be beneficial to society as a whole.