Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The problem of improvement to environment is becoming serious. Some people think that only governments and big companies can affect the environment, while some other people supposed that individuals can also achieve something significant. Personally, I completely disagree the opinion that only governments and large companies can make a difference. From an individual perspective, there are many things they can do to reduce their contribution to environmental pollution. One option is that residents can reduce the emissions of the carbon dioxide by driving less and going out by using more public transport. The effect has been approved in many metropolitan cities like Shanghai, where convenient and affordable public transport services have played an important role in the reduction of fumes from vehicles. Another practical action that can be taken by individuals is to classify rubbish, which can make a huge difference in recycling waste. On the other hand, it looks absurd to me that environmental problems are reckoned to be only addressed by politicians or businessmen. While some might argue that it is the administration that has the power to legislate against pollution, we should not forget that the way government deals with something or initiate bills can be changed by public opinion, like democratic voting. What’s more, one striking fact we cannot afford to ignore is the enormous amount of daily rubbish from households, such as the plastic bags and packages. We should focus on not only enterprises but also household waste. To put it in a nutshell, I do not think that only politicians and company managers can affect the environment without the involvement of individuals.