Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Clean water matters for our lives. Although a proper access to it is a fundamental human right, clean water should not be free of charge because it can bring benefits in saving water and improving water supply techniques. People are expected to save water when water takes prices. This is based on the common sense of human: we tend to cherish things with prices. When clean water is free of charge, children will not understand the importance of “saving water ”; adults will lose their sense about how many water they have used, or even wasted. Although ideally “saving water ” is a basic principle that everyone should follow, the reality is that money people always perceive the value of water through their water bills. That is the reason why none of major counties in the world does not make “free water ” policy, regardless of the level of their social wealth. From a perspective of public, pricing water is the most direct and effective way to preserve supply. Moreover, a marketing running of water supply can improve water supply techniques, which helps in many aspects, such as improving water quality and advancing water saving techniques. In deed, the money earned by water supply company in many countries is transferred to the fund, which has contributed a lot in upgrading water industry. For instance, in China, 70% of financial revenue from water supply is going to be used to researches and development of water supply techniques, making the water supplied in China more clean and be used in a more efficient way. The appear of these advanced techniques is only possible and sustainable with a marketing method for water supply. In conclusion, despite everyone has their right to access clean water, I strongly feel that water should be priced. With a definite marketing mechanism, more amount of water can be saved by people, and more environmental friendly techniques can be come out.