Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

I believe the main cause of the traffic jam in many cities now is the increase of buying car ownership over the past thirty years, and governments should educate the residents to reduce the use of cars and replace them with eco-transport. Many cities now suffer the crowding in the streets, leading to a big traffic jam due to the increasing car ownership because of the distance between their houses and other places, such as supermarkets, universities, hospitals and other cities. This leads people to buy the cars to avoid losing time going to any place. For example, in the US, many Americans own cars to save time going to different destinations because of the long distances between cities. Governments are required to educate their residents to reduce the use of cars and replace them with eco-transport, which can help reduce traffic jams in their cities. After being educated, people should replace their cars by using bicycles or walking. And go into groups to buy their essentials to reduce the traffic jams in their cities. For instance, in London, many people replaced their cars with walking to their work on foot, and that helped to reduce the traffic jams. In conclusion, I believe the increase in car ownership because of the long distance between each city causes a big traffic jam in many cities, and governments should educate the residents to replace their cars with bicycles or walk on foot to help reduce the traffic jam.