The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

As English is considered to be an international language, growing rates of turism spread this language even more, causing its dominance and extinction of other languages. This occurance can end with only one language in the world, which can be advantageous by removing language barrier, but can also result in loss of national identities. On the one hand, with one language, people around the world will communicate without obstacles. While ideas are accessible only for ones that know the language on which they are conveyed, interaction in the same language will remove this problem and create more opportunities to study, create relations and consequently develop society. Invention of the internet provided uninterrupted connection between any poin on earth and turned the world upside down, so united language will push this even further. On the other hand, because other languages will no longer exist, nations will begin to disappear as well. Language is the base of nation, as it is deeply interconnected with customs, views and mentalities of the folk. When it is forgotten and substituded with another language, the new one will not fit in the nation’s culture and will start to change and ruin it instead. As a result, a long histories, unique traditions and diversity in the world will vanish, leading humankind to degradation. To sum up, one language in use, such as Engligh, can strengthen connections between people and open new opportunities but destroy nations and cultures.