Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

A decent amount of people thinks that the government is not effectively using its budget on arts therefore they do think the money could be used for other matters. I disagree with this way of thinking because arts is an essential part of our lives and should not be seen as a waste of money; however, I do think the money reserved for arts should not be more than a certain amount and should not affect the government’s budget on more crucial things. Firstly, since the form of humanity has developed, arts was always an essential part of our lives. With the help of arts, we were able to do researches about ancient livings of our ancestors and we were able to understand their form of thinking on that specific century. In addition, arts did also help with the revolutionary acts for the future of humanity, which we still use to this day. Another point to consider, arts is also a form for expressing ourselves in our own ways. Which I think is very beneficial for our own mental health. As a result, using arts as a coping mechanism saves governments budget from excessive spendings on antidepressants and unnecessary amount of therapy sessions which can also decrease the pressure on healthcare staff. In conclusion, arts have a useful and a crucial part on our lives. Although, the money used on these should not expand the budget reserved by governmental staff it should also not be the main concern to the government for the sake of the future generations.