When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Some people may judge a person’s personality in the very first meeting. This jsudgment then is used as a factor, whether to like the newly met individual or not. While some believe that this approach helps them in creating socail relationships, I think this cannot be trustworthy because of definit reasons. Human’s personality is more complicated than one might be able to recognize its subtle features in the first meeting. Some people, being extroverted, may find it easy to express themselves and their feelings, even when meeting a stranger. On the other hand, this is usually not true for introverted people. These individuals are not comfortable to make a conversation with someone they do not know, or they simply refrain from doing so, as they just do not tend to impress others. As a result, the may seem unsociable or unfriendly right after a short conversation, which is wrong. They just need time to make strong bonds and making new friends is a time-consuming, if not a tough process for them. In addition, deciding someone’s character just after a short talk, cannot be based on factual evidents. People ’s outlook and the way they appear in the society can be misleading. For example, models are usaully considered to have an appealing appearance, and they are very persuasive when talking to, but this does not necessarily mean they deserve to be trusted and have the potential to be a good friend. On the other hand, some may not have a charming appearance, but after a certain time, it turns out they have a trustworthy character. This is the case with my best friend, Ali. When I first met him at work, he seemed to be arrogant and selfish. Just after some days, I understood that he was modest and reliable. In conclusion, judging people just based on a short meeting cannot be a reliable attitude. In order to have a better understanding of their personality, they should be given the chance to express themselves.