Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

There has been a discussion about the impacts of peers on people ’s attitude especially when they are young. Whereas some consider peer pressure as a necessary part of social improvement, others mention its harmful aspects. Even though peer influence has certain benefits, I believe its drawbacks are more significant. To begin with the advantages, peer pressure can play a notable role in young social development. when a young individual is surrounded by aspiring and purposeful peers, they might be unconsciously motivated to care about their future and dreams and adopt healthier habits. For example, when friends force each other to exercise and go to the gym, it can result in much better habits compared to people who do not undergo such conditions. Secondly, being in a group of peers creates a sense of belonging, so it makes a young person emotionally feel self-confidence and self-esteem which is significantly remarkable for an adolescent. They are usually supported by their peer group, no matter how much they have succeeded in their actions or have failed. Turning to the disadvantages, young people often are tempted to do harmful behaviors such as smoking and drinking since they fear to be excluded from peer groups. As a consequence, their education, health and future may be ruined. The second drawback of peer influence relates to a real young individuality. Often young people want to attract peers ’ attention, so they begin to act like them or show strange behaviors while it’s completely different from their personality. As a result, it has a long-lasting effect on their independence and self-respect. Moreover, if teens are surrounded by peers who have opinions and beliefs that are radically different from their families, teens may be separated from relatives at that age because of peer influence and proving themselves to friends, so this development puts teenagers in dangerous and unpredictable situations. In conclusion, although peers make teens motivated and feel important in society, peer pressure can have irreparable and everlasting damage to the future of people. In my opinion, teens should communicate with friends as well as consider their personal priority, dreams and family.