Smoking is a habit that claims many lives and is a great drain on health services. One way to combat smoking would be to make it illegal. What are the pros and cons of such a government policy? What alternative strategies can you suggest to combat smoking?

There is no denying the fact that treatment with smoking is one of the most dangerous things. This essay will discuss the positives and negatives that the country should concentrate on and focus on the other side that things must government do it to reducing the bad habit. To begin with, there are many disadvantages to practising smoking as an illegal activity. Firstly, one of the main drawbacks that may lead to an increase the black market stores. In other words, some smugglers probably seize or exploit the opportunity to sell prohibited items such as cigarettes at high prices if the authority bans manufacturing them. In addition, this decision might affect the economy negatively. For example, when the government suddenly prohibits industries, this will result in massive losses and a huge number of unemployed citizens. On the other hand, banning smoking may have numerous positives. One of the main merits is that the number of smokers will plummet sharply. It is also possible to say that most smokers will quit the negative practice because they may be afraid of being fined. Moreover, many health issues will disappear. For example, people will no more suffer from some chronic diseases related to smoking, such as lung cancers and heart attacks. In terms of the methods of prevention from spreading smoking, it can be fought by many other effective ways. One clear solution is raising public awareness about the smoking hazard. For clarification, the governments, social platforms and organisations need to cooperate together to launch campaigns to educate inhabitants about the dangers that smoking brings. Consequently, this will result in reducing smoking levels in the long term. In conclusion, there are lots of merits and drawbacks that could greatly impact. It is also possible true that there are several methods which can be applied to prohibit smoking.