In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

There is a growing of discussion about whether it is valuable for primary and secondary students to take long summer holidays. While some people believe it is beneficial to students both physically and mentally, others argue that it may waste students ’ precious time and cause problems for parents. To begin with, having a summer holiday can benefit students in their physical and mental health. During summer, it is too hot to study, especially for those students who live in tropical areas. The extreme weather might distract students from their studies, sometimes even leading to disease. Additionally, after a fast-paced semester, a long vacation can help them recover from the feeling of exhaustion and be well-prepared for the new term. Furthermore, it would be a good chance for them to learn broader knowledge and practical skills because they can travel with their parents to different cities or take part in community activities during holidays. It is very common for students to travel to other cities to learn history from museums and historical sites when they are having holiday, which can broaden their perspective. Moreover, they will have time to attend community activities, which they may not have time for at usual. They can learn how to communicate and practical skills, which may not be acquired in classes. Meanwhile, they may have a sense of belonging by taking part in the community services. On the other hand, a long holiday may have negative impacts on both students and their parents. Some people argue that it would be a waste of time for students to take long vacations. Students should prioritize their time on studying, thus they can adapt to the fast study pace and be well-prepared for universities. In addition, if students have a long holiday, their parents, who usually have full- time jobs, may not have time to take care of them or accompany them. It will be unsafe to leave them home alone, particularly the younger children. At the same time, parents can not have a long leave for work, so it will be a problem for both children and their parents. In conclusion, it is neccessary and valuable for primary and high-school students to take a long summer holidays. Although there is some issues raised by this, the advantages in the aspects of students ’ health and expanding their knowlege and skills outweigh the drawbacks.