It is becoming increasingly popular for people to travel to tourist destinations during public holidays. What problems does this cause? What solutions are there to these problems?

More and more travellers are choosing famous tourist destinations in recent years. Therefore, the stress on local infrastructure and environmental damage has increased. There need to be promotions on lesser-known destinations and also some limits on the visitor count during high seasons. There are many difficulties related to overcrowding at popular visiting destinations. Firstly, it intensifies the pressure on local infrastructures through increase usage of energy, water and natural resources in these areas. For instance, a very small town with a population of around 10,000 might have never predicted an influx of over 2,000 people and might not be ready to serve them with the existing setups. Secondly, being overwhelmed by the increased waste and traffic congestions, tourist destinations could be forced to bear a tremendous number of damages. It is evident to almost everyone that the large volume of waste, generated in tourist hotspots, is often underestimated and poorly managed. Structured frameworks and regulations could help places of interest minimize the risks. First, promoting off-season or lesser-known destinations through tourism campaigns could lift the pressure and give these areas an opportunity to plan and restructure for the upcoming years. For example, many traveling influencers could introduce new landmarks and redirect the attention from popular spots. Second, having implemented visitor limits and stricter regulations during peak periods, the officials could minimize the risks associated with the tourism. To sum up, tourism may upsurge the pressure on infrastructure and environmental damages, which should be controlled by increasing awareness of new vising destinations and new regulations. This could lessen the burden, which is currently harming high-traffic areas.