In many countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prision sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving longer prision sentences to criminals?

In today`s fast-paced world, in many nations, people have a conflicts about the impact of longer captivity to combat crime. The benefits of the jail is to stop criminal offense and give lesson to others, while the drawbacks are the government face more expenses on criminals and the family of any criminal can go on wrong track. To begin with, the advantages of the long camptivity of the offenders, to stop crime in a society. Due to this, if police get any wanted person, then court decide to keep them behind the bar, because it can reduce crime in a public. Moreover, if this kind of people stay in the jail, then other most-wanted criminals may stop the crime with a fear. Everyone can live life peacefully if these type of people stays in prison. For example, there was an article in the Times of India which says lenghthy punishment to the dengerous offender can reduce crime in the society, and also a police can focus on their work. On the other hand, the conseqences of the longer jail is the ministry may face more expences. As a result, the hard earned money of the taxpayers can go behind the criminals, this may reduce a facility of a comon citizen. Furthermore, the family of the criminals may face a financial struggle, which may keep their childrens uneducated. This childrens can do similar activities in future, without prior education. For instance, there was a research done by Western Sydney University which mentioned the authorities face high expenses for prision, which results in a lower budget for development, and the childrens of the prisoners may get lower ecucation, which cause same threat to society. In conclusion, longer prision can impacted the crime rate of the society, but the spending of money the jail is too expensive, which may affcets the budget of the government, and ended up with lower development.