With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid growth in the global population, ensuring food security have become a major concern. Some people believe that Genetical Modify GM foods presents a promising solution to this crisis. Although GM food help adrress the food shortages in several countries, I partially agree with this statement as these foods can raise health and environmental concerns in long term. On one hand, there is no doubt about that genetical food have the potential to significantly boost food production. They are often engineered to resist pests, harsh weather and poor soil. For example, many traditional crops such as rice and wheat were often required a large amount water, high quality of soil to grow and many pesticides to preserve them, but with the help of GM food it becomes convenient and cost effective to grow these foods even in low water area. Moreover, such modifications to foods not only aid in feeding people but also increasing the profits for the farmers. On the other hand, while GM crops play a vital role in feeding people,especially in developing countries, there are ongoing debates about its health and environmental concerns. Many GM seeds are becoming vulnerable to diseases because of the modifcations. Therefore, in order to preserve these crops farmer are using strong pesticides, which are leading to soil and food poision. For instance, there are several US based foods are banned in EU nations because of the contamination in their soil. As these USA farmer are trying to grow GM crops with high usage of chemical which is affecting land and plants. In conclusion, although modifications in seeds helps adrress food shortages crisis all over the world, it has several negative impact on soil and crops which cannot be overlooked, such as making crops vulnerable which can lead to high usage of pesticides to preserve these crops. A balanced approach, where government should improve distribution of foods and invest in the development of biotechnology, can be an effective way to resolve this issue.