Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no denying the fact that many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling locally goods. While there is a commonly held belief that it is a good progress, there is an argument opposite it. This essay will discuss some of the reasons of this trend and then express why I tend to believe it is a negative development. On one hand, with increasing trade between countries theses days, foreign products are easily accessible to the locals. There are many causes for this; the foremost reason is improved transportation facilities. Due to this, any items required from other lands are easily available in a short time. In addition, people often prefer international products instead of local. For example, people in Eastern Asian countries tend to purchase American cosmetic products rather than the locally produced ones. So, the two main causes are the best transportation and changed preferences stand out this. On the other hand, the effect of this trend have been and continues to be very serious. The significant impact of this trend is the lowers of the local economy. As a seller decides to offer global goods, subsequently this action affects the economy of the internal goods as its are not getting sale in any market. Moreover, this action reflects on lowering the employment in the area. For instance, many farmers in Oman lost their farm due to the high demand for international vegetables, letting them losing their source of earning money. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. There are two major reasons for this trend. On balance, however, I tend to believe that relying on the global products rather than purchasing locally produced is a negative progress.