Unhealthy food has negative effect on both individuals and on the society they live in. Some people think that the government should tax the unhealthy food while others say that fat tax is unfair an unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a common belief that, fast food has a negative impact on both an individual and the society. There has been an ongoing debate, where some people argue that, there should be tax imposed on such food items, while others are of the view that it is unimportant. In this essay, I will discuss both the notions and will explicate my viewpoint. To commence with, there has been an increase in the popularity of unhealthy food, especially among the youngsters, which in turn expose them to the risk of various lethal health conditions, such as diabetes, obesity and in serious situations, heart attacks and stroke. To avoid all these complications, government should definitely impose some kind of tax on these food items, to increase their price that, in turn would decline their sale which is really important for development of a healthy society, as, the tax money from this food can be used to organise the food banks, communal kitchens or free meal services for people who are unable to buy anything, but this cheap hazardous fast food. On the other hand, there is a vast group of people, who actually are able to make a meal out of the fast food, because it is less costly and easily available. For example, In Mumbai, a city in India, most people make their lunch out of a vadapav, which is considered extremely unhygienic and unhealthy because of the oil and spices it is made with. Therefore, if government put tax on all these kind of food items, it will be an inconvinience for the poor section of the society, who are barely able to earn the bread for themself and their family. Conclusively, I strongly believe that a tax should be imposed by the government on fast food to promote healthy eating habits among the population. However, the tax money should only be utilised to feed the individuals who are soleley dependent on such meals for their livelihood so that advantage of this notion outweighs disadvantage, benefiting the society by every means.