Some people think if students are afraid of teacher it is better. Others say that having a friendly relationship is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some people believe that, it is better for the students to be scared of their teachers, whereas others believe in development of a friendly relation among them. In this essay, I will discuss both these points and explain my views. Firstly, a school is considered a place where a child's cognitive and intellectual development takes place. Therefore, for this purpose it is important for the teachers to be strict and make a child understand importance of being disciplined. If a teacher is always lenient, and never taking any strict actions, children become more free, and do not take their lessons seriously. Therefore, a teacher needs to exhibit stringent behaviour, in order to motivate their pupils to finish their lessons on time. On the other hand, some educational institutions endorse a friendly behaviour among the teachers and the students. If a teacher is emiable, they are more approachable for the students, who will feel free to discuss various problems with their mentors, and try to figure out a solution. Also children feel more connected with a teacher, who is not always yelling at them or scolding them. Children will happily get educated bysomeone, who exhibits understanding and empathising behaviour towards them. I believe that, it is important for a teacher to be strict with the students, in order to inculcate discipline in them, but not so much that children are frightened, and would not even try to experiment or discover their field of interest, hence, killing their creative instincts and hindering their cognitive development. Conclusively, a teacher should know, how to balance their strict and friendly side. Both the sides are imperative, however, a teacher should be aware of the extent of leniency and strictness that, they need to show at a certain point of time.