In today's world private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct the scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this era of modernisation, it is often observed significantly that the private sectors fund majority of the scientific research than public sectors. It is probably due to the fact that there is considerable redistribution of resources into healthcare, education and infrastructure. From my perspective, I ardently am supporter of this assertion, will elucidate my position with merits and demerits in the ensuing paragraphs culminating in a well-founded conclusion. Initiating with the best possible benefits, the most significant advantage is, with more private companies paying for the reasearch, it can pave way for infinite number of inventions, utimately, promoting over-all growth of the nation. To exemplify, in cases like Covid-19 virus infection where-in every researcher is actively looking for an antidote, the higher the number of the experiments, the higher the chances of finding a cure. Furthermore, with increasing sectors promoting researches, the job opportunities are certainly exemplified. As a result, unemployment and poverty in this nation can get eradicated to a certain extent. On the paradoxical side, there are certain drawbacks with this approach, although private sector pay for these experiments, there could an underlying selfish motive behind it. For instance, not every company will have a service motivated attitude, they might simply be doing them to attract international investors that can invest millions of dollars into it. Additionally, there have been instances where It has been doubted that coronavirus which originated from China is a man made virus, that is intentionally released to harm the people. Therfore, there is a definitve possibilty of exploiting researches. In conclusion, I am of the conviction that the aforementioned arguments strongly bolster my viewpoint on research funding. The multi-faceted nature of the topic requires careful consideration, and after weighing the evidence, it becomes apparent that careful public funding is the most logical stance to adopt in the context of our ever-changing world.