Some people get into debt by buying things they don`t need and can`t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays, people buy unnecessary things as compared to the past. Even this habit has caused many individuals to face financial crunch. Analysing the urge to mimic others lifestyle and lucrative offers by the retailers online as well as offline are the major reasons for this behaviour. Looking at long term financial goals and actions to achieve them could be a possible solution to this problem. To begin with, first and foremost reason for this trend, people are trying to copy fashion icons and high society people. For example, a large number of audience is following their icons on social media platforms, and they try to copy them in every way possible. Hence, they end up buying expensive fashion clothing and gadgets, as they want to fulfill their desire to look like their role models. As a result, they loose their financial stability and get into debt. Furthermore, thesedays, many companies are offering lucrative deals, which lead people to buy unnecessary stuff without actual need of it. To illustrate, online websites, such as Amazon, Flipkart, etc, give attractive discounts on various products on regular basis. Therefore, people are buying products at cheaper costs, because they think this would save their money. Thus, they spend excessively on the things that they do not need rightnow.