Many individuals believe that taking regular health check-ups is unnecessary if they feel healthy. Do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint? Explain your answer.

Health is the most important type of wealth, that a person can have. However, many people do not consider regular health check-ups to be important, as they feel healthy. I completely disagree with this notion, and will explicate my viewpoint in the essay below. First and foremost, in this fast-paced world, people have become less conscious about their overall well-being. Hectic schedules, excessive work-load and intake of less nutritious food, has decreased the quality of fitness. Hence, people are more exposed to the risk of developing serious diseases which, may or may not be symptomatic. Therefore, a person would not know, they are sick until they start experiencing the signs of the illness. However, if a person gets their regular check-ups done, they can discover any disease at an early stage, rather than finding about it at the point where, it is now incurable. For example, the most common type of cancer found in women is cervical cancer which can be easily caught at an initial stage, if regular PAP tests are done. Furthermore, genetic diseases can also be highly avoided to a great extent with routine medical examination. Some chronic illnesses such as, diabetes, high blood pressure, alzeihmers,etc., are inherited from one generation to another in a family, and hence techniques such as genetic mapping can detect the defected genes therefore, helping us to avoid their early onset. For example, spinal bifida, a very common birth defect, can be very easily stopped, if found in early sonography report of the mother. Conclusively, there is nothing more important than a healthy body and mind in this universe. Therefore, people should be encouraged to undergo regular examination to discover any wrongness in the body at a very initial stage, and get it treated before it gets out of hand.