In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Recently, the average years which a person is expected to live have been increasing worldwide. While there are enormous positive points about longer life expectancy, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits of that. Both sides will be discussed further in the paragraphs below. On the one hand, longer life expectancy has two substantial advantages for people. First and foremost, living longer will offer people the opportunity to stay with their beloved ones for a longer time and also pursue their ambitions. That is, increased life expectancy has fostered people's hope and incentivised them to fight for their dreams and make a healthy, happy society. Secondly, with a longer period of living, we will have the chance to use some experienced, retired people to teach the workforce. For instance, the older members of a company can mentor the young, unexperienced newcomers and prepare them based on the principles of their company. On the other hand, there are enormous drawbacks to increased life expectancy. First, living longer leads to overpopulation of the elderly who need considerable medical care and it specifically burdens the healthcare system and causes a lot of cost for it. Secondly, this overpopulation of the elderly may launch the younger generation on a path of negative competition for accommodation and job opportunities and lower their life quality. This is the reason why I think increased life expectancy can deprive the youth of their essential needs in life. In conclusion, despite the benefits of increased period of living, longer life expectancy can cause a lot of trouble, and the drawbacks should not be overlooked.