Machines have replaced physical work in many industries. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common that physical work has been substituted by machines. While this trend will improve the productivity and efficiency of society as a whole, it also causes some social issues. In my view, the benefits of the technological development outweigh its drawbacks. On one hand, machines replace human beings in many fields, contributing to a productive, efficient society and individuals’ well-being. Firstly, due to the mechanization, many repetitive work can be completed by machines, which is faster and more accurate than human beings, improving productivity and efficiency. For example, machines can operate 24/7, while a person can only work for a much shorter time. Secondly, it will help save the cost of production. As human labour are more expensive than technology devices, using machines in many areas is an effective way to decrease the expenditure of the enterprises. Lastly, if people get relief from the physical work, they can have more time to explore their interests, accompany their families, and continue their study, thus improving their quality of life. On the other hand, the replacements by machines may also lead to loss of jobs and lower service standards in some industries. Since the duties of employees are substituted by technology, the employees may lose their employment because their positions will be redundant. For instance, due to the application of self-driving technology, many taxi drivers are laid off. In addition, some service industries use robots to deliver their services, which may lower the standard of the industry. For example, customer service centers answer the phone lines by artificial intelligence, which is cold and inflexible, resulting in poor experiences for customers. In conclusion, although it may cause unemployment and poor services in some fields, mechanization is beneficial to the improvement of productivity and efficiency of the society, and individuals’ life quality in the long run. Therefore, this phenomenon has a more positive influence on society as a whole.