Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All humans around the world should have access to safe, drinkable water. Hence, as a basic human right, water should be freely provided to every home. While I strongly agree with the premise, I do not believe that it should be accessed free of charge, and will discuss it further in the following paragraphs. To begin with, clean water should inevitably be considered a significant human right. This is because of the fact that water is one of the fundamental biological requirements for survival. Humans cannot survive more than a few days without drinking water. Not only does it play a vital role in maintaining the body’s proper balance, enabling humans to function effectively, it is also essential for personal hygiene and sanitation. Without access to safe drinking water, people can quickly suffer from debilitating diseases such as infectious diarrhea. These are the reasons why a lot of countries, such as Iran, have taken responsibility for supplying clean water to the majority of residential areas. However, despite the significant role of clean water in humans’ lives, it is not reasonable to provide that free of charge for everyone, according to two main reasons. First and foremost, people always take the free supplies for granted. In other words, people inexorably tend to waste the safe, drinkable water on some unnecessary daily chores such as washing their personal cars, or taking long showers if they can access water freely and limitlessly. Secondly, providing clean water is costly for governments, which should be partly covered by citizens. For instance, a considerable proportion of the annual budget in Iran is allocated to treating sewage and purifying water, making it safe for consumption. Needless to say, it is reasonable for residents to contribute to these costs. In conclusion, water is a basic human right, and everyone should have the opportunity to access clean water for drinking and sanitation. However, it should never be provided freely due to the considerable costs of providing clean water and the risk of misuse.