Nowadays many people choose to be self-empoyed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

The growing tendency of being self-employed has garnered considerable attention last time. More people prefer to not work for the “boss”, and select other options, such as working for yourself. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and highlight its possible disadvantages. Potential accelerators of this tendency may be the latest technological advancements, which have provided new endless opportunities and possibilities for an ordinary person. To be precise, breakthrough innovation, the Internet, showed individuals that there are far more ways to earn money, besides physical labour. Moreover, this technology contributed a huge impact to not letting workers be geographically attached to one place. Consequently, the Internet has become a flourishing platform for new fields, where users can make money. To compare, before employees had to work for a company, because there were not any other choices. However, now, for example, every individual can monetize their hobbies by sharing works in YouTube or sell them on online marketplaces, and be self-employed. However, this growth may suppress the development of a country’s economy, as a plenty of job places become redundant. In other words, huge companies and organisations account for a big part of a country’s economy. Therefore, if these companies face recession, because of shortage of workers, the whole country will feel its consequences, such as inflation. The evidence of it is developing countries with poor economy that have high unemployment rate. Also, self-employment cannot guarantee special payments as organisations do. For example, most of companies pay money if their employees are sick. As a result, jobs in organisations provide more secure life. To sum up, there are plenty of reasons, such as creation of the Internet, why working for yourself becomes more popular now. Nevertheless, this can engender some disadvantages for the a country’s economy and individuals’ lives.