As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some would argue that as well as gaining profits, companies have a social commitment to the community. I disagree with this statement because companies invest money to give work to people and pay taxes, so the public administration is responsible for social activities. On one hand, the function of a business is investing money in infrastructure for the company and giving work to people and fair salaries to them. The company needs to recover the money that it has invested and have a profit to do more investments in the future, which creates more positions and indirectly gives a better quality of life to the employees. The company where I work has 65 employees, and the owners pay salaries and benefits like bonuses and health insurance. To retain the employees and the benefit, the company needs to gain money; contrary to this, it is impossible to keep the company working. On the other hand, companies pay a lot of money in taxes; nonetheless, this does not mean they have a social function. The government has the responsibility to assist the community and provide social activities to people. If companies are forced to do social activities, they need to pay fewer taxes. For example, The Coca Cola company pays fewer taxes to the government, but the company sponsors many sports activities, and part of their profits goes to social events to benefit the community. Other companies like McDonalds have foundations to assist children with cancer. All these social activities could not be realized if the government did not reduce taxes. To conclude, the primary activity of a business is to invest and gain money; they do not have to do social activities unless the government reduces their tax payments. Contrary to this, it is impossible that some companies can afford social responsibilities.