Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some would argue that science improvements in farming bring better benefits. I agree with this statement because research in animal health and vaccines gives economical benefits for the country and society. Improvements in seeds genetics produce better harvests and great benefits for the farmer and the food industry. On one hand, research in animal vaccines would help both the animals and consumers, since animal health becomes essential for animal origin products, and all the rules that the buyer imposes offer products that certify good handling in animal welfare, bringing better benefits for the farmers that can sell their products and satisfaction guarantee for the customers that they are going to buy an excellent product, giving economical developments for the country. In Argentina, the research in vaccines against foot and mouth disease virus increases the sanitary status of the country and the exportations of meat, giving economical profits for the country and for the cattle producers. On the other hand, developments in genetics bring the possibility of getting better seeds and consequently farmers have had big harvests and great economical benefits for the agriculture and for food companies. In Argentina, the developments in genetics of the seeds, in order to have better harvests, increased significantly the production of sunflowers and thus the production of sunflower oil, allowing the country to export great amounts of oil, giving profits to the farmers and economical benefits for the country. To conclude, always improvements in science to research in farming produce great benefits for the farmers and for the economy of the country.